Destiny 1


Destiny was first released for PS3 and 4 as well as Xbox 360 and One consoles, in September 2014.  Published by Activision, and developed by Bungie, it was the first game in the ten-year agreement between the 2 companies.  It is only available online, and is a multiplayer first-person shooter game.

The story is set in a world of fantasy science fiction, and features role playing games in a multiplayer shared world environment.

In Destiny 1, players adopt the role of Guardian – which are the protectors of the world’s only remaining city that is safe to inhabit.  They exercise a power which is known as Light to defend the city against a variety of different alien species.  The game revolves around players rescuing a being called the Traveller, as they travel to other planets in order to decimate the aliens who are threatening humanity.

After the initial release, Bungie added a further 4 expansion packs which grew the story and added a variety of missions and new content.

Destiny 2

Destiny 2 is in keeping with the theme of the original as a multiplayer first-person shooter game.  It makes its debut this month for PS4 and Xbox One, with a further edition being released in October this year for Microsoft Windows.

Bungie’s Play for Release Times

Although the release date for Destiny 2 had been public for some time, Bungie has made it release time known and are keeping it simple.  Destiny 2 was released at midnight across the globe and the game is set to be as exciting as playing at Riverbelle mobile casino, only on console!

Destiny 1 and 2 The Similarities and Differences

Destiny 1 featured matchmaking, which allowed players with whom they were matched by the game to communicate with one another using their console’s messaging system.  Destiny 2 has improved on this by introducing what they call “Guided Games”.  This will allow players to find groups which need extra players for activities like raids or strikes.

Xur Returns

Xur, Agent of the Nine, Seller of specialized armour, weapons, consumables and Exotic Shards, is set to return in Destiny 2, although his usual Friday spot for appearing has yet to be confirmed by Bungie.

Character Classes

Destiny 2 has the same character classes of Destiny 1.  As with the first version of the game, each class has its individual unique upgrades, special skills, advantages and sub-classes which give players the option to tune their individual characters to tailor make their playing method.

After selecting a class, players can then opt for a Human, Exo or Awoken species for their character.

After those selections are made, players can further fine-tune their characters by choosing skin colour or gender to suit their tastes.  This is purely for fun, and does not affect gameplay whatsoever.

Characters and Changes in Destiny 2

Warlocks, Hunters and Titans will have some similar capabilities in Destiny 2, but with some changes.

Armour and Weapons have been restructured in Destiny 2.  Weapons will be defined as Energy Power and Kinetic weapons, unlike the definitions in the original game of Special, Heavy and Primary Weapons.

Apart from those fans of Destiny 1 can expect the same fantastic gameplay, graphics, storylines and raids from Destiny 2, with all the improvements and evolvements one would expect from Bungie.